Department of Mechanical Engineering and Automation

Home -> Departments -> Department of Mechanical Engineering and Automation

The Department of Mechanical Engineering and Automation was established in 2002. Its predecessor can be traced back to the time of foundation of NPU. Currently, there are 47 faculty members, including 17 professors, 27 associate professors, among which 20 are doctoral supervisors. The discipline “Mechanical Engineering” is the first selected “Double First-Class” construction discipline. The undergraduate major Mechanical Design, Manufacture and Automation is the first selected “National First-Class” undergraduate major. As the first batch of national master and doctor degree authorization units, the department was authorized to grant master and doctor degrees in Mechanical Manufacture and Automation, Mechanical Design and Theory, Vehicle Engineering. The department also provides postdoctoral research positions.

The department of Mechanical Engineering and Automation has outstanding education background and resources. There are 2 national renowned teaching experts, 2 provincial renowned teaching experts, 1 national-level teaching team of mechanical fundamentals, and 1 Research and Teaching Innovation Team of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT). It has developed 14 National First-Class and Top-quality courses including the mechanical principle, mechanical design, mechanical manufacture fundamentals, etc. More than 10 mechanical-related textbooks (including 4 national planning textbooks) have been published, among which 3 have been honored the first or second prize of the First National Excellent Textbook Award. There are also 3 national-level teaching (practice) platforms including the National Teaching Base of Mechanical fundamentals, the National Experimental Teaching Center of Mechanical fundamentals, as well as the National Virtual Simulation and Experimental Teaching Center of Mechanical fundamentals and Aeronautic Manufacturing. The department has won the second prize of the National Teaching Achievement Award twice, and 1 Top prize, 5 second prizes of the provincial teaching achievement award.

The department currently has 4 national and 2 provincial research experts. In recent years, it has undertaken more than 100 state research projects including the Key Project of National Natural Science Foundation of China, the National 863 Project, the Key Research and Development Project of the MIIT, etc. Our department has developed the first CNC worm wheel gear grinding machine with face gear, the first aviation high-power rare-earth permanent magnet DC motor, the first dual-channel high-precision DC servo control system for large aircraft, and the first CAPP system in China. It has published more than 700 high-quality peer-reviewed research papers, and has won the second prize of the National Award for Technological Invention, 3 second prizes of the National Science and Technology Progress Award, 3 first prizes and 5 second prizes of the Provincial or ministerial Science and Technology Awards.

Our department has established close collaborations with key domestic companies such as AVIC Xi’an Aircraft Industrial (Group) CO., LTD. and AVIC Chengdu Aircraft Industrial (Group) CO., LTD. Long-term cooperative relations have also been established with world-renowned overseas universities including Johns Hopkins University, University of Southampton, University of Twente, Pohang University of Science and Technology, and Hong Kong Polytechnic University, etc.

Head of Department: Prof. FU Jiawei

Tel: +86 029 88493498


Updated March 2023